KILLARNEY turns 70 years old

The Killarney International Raceway in Cape Town’s northern suburbs recently celebrated its heritage and seventy years of racing since 1947 and NamWheels / Galimoto Media was invited to attend the celebrations.

Four veterans who helped to develop the track were honoured with special service awards.

Alderman J-P Smith, as the City of Cape Town’s Mayoral Committee member for Safety and Social Services, unveiled a very special commemorative board depicting the track’s history. Sarel van der Merwe, Springbok, eleven times SA Rally champion and racer at the Le Mans and Daytona race tracks, also delivered a special birthday message.

More than hundred guests who had raced at Killarney or had some connection to the beloved track, gathered at the Clubhouse for the awards presented to Adrian Pheiffer (86), Denis Joubert (82), dr Harry Wade (89) and Brian Hoskins (70).

The chairman of the Western Province Motor Club (WPMC), Mr Gavin Cerff, and Killarney’s executive manager, Mr Des Easom, presented the awards together.

Ald Smith also congratulated Killarney for being one of the city’s assets… because it was built, financed and expanded without government support or the taxpayer”.

Leave a Comment