Mercedes model codes

What does M100 mean and what’s the difference between a W202 and an S202? Below you will find most of the Mercedes-Benz body designations and model codes…

Body (form) designation

  • W = Sedan/Hatch
  • S = Station Wagon (Estate)
  • C = Coupé
  • R = Roadster
  • A = Cabriolet (Convertible)
  • X = SUV or 4×4
  • V = Limousine

Model (range) codes

CodeColloquial NameYear startYear endBodies
105Typ 219 Ponton19561959W
107SL 19711989R
107SLC 19711981C
108/9Pre S-Class19651972W
110Small Fintail19611968W S
111/2Fintail 6-cylinders19591971W C A
113SL (Pagoda) 19631971R
114/5Middle class aka /8 and Strichacht19681975W C
120/1/8Ponton19531962W C A
123Middle class19751985W S C V
124Middle class/E-Class19841996W S C A V
126S-Class19791991W C
140S-Class 19911999W C
156GLA Gen 12014currentX
163M-Class Gen 119972005W
164M-Class Gen 220052011W
164GL-Class Gen 120062012X
166M-Class Gen 320122019W
166GL-Class Gen 22012currentX
167M-Class Gen 42019currentW
168A-Class Gen 119972004W
169A-Class Gen 2 20042012W
170SLK Gen 119962004R
171SLK Gen 2 20042011R
172SLK Gen 3 / SLC20112019R
176A-Class Gen 320132018W
177A-Class Gen 42018currentW
180220 Ponton19541959W
186Type 300 “Adenauer”19511957W A V
187Type 22019511955W C A
188Type 300 S / 300 Sc19511958C A R
189Type 300d “Adenauer”19571962W A V
190AMG GT/S/C/R2014currentC R
191Type 170 S / Sb / S-V19491955W A
197SLS20112015C R
198SL (300/Gullwing) 19531963C R
201190 (aka Baby-Benz)19821993W
202C-Class Gen 119932000W S
203C-Class Gen 220002007W S C
204C-Class Gen 320072014W S C X
205C-Class Gen 42014currentW S C A
207E-Class Coupe (212) 20102017C A
208CLK Gen 119972003C A
209CLK Gen 220032009C A
210E-Class 19962002W S V
211E-Class 20022009W S V
212E-Class 20092016W S
213E-Class 2017currentW S C A
215S-Class coupe 19982006C
216S-Class coupe 20062014C
217S-Class coupe 2014currentC A
218CLS Gen 220102018C (W!)
219CLS Gen 120042010C (W!)
220S-Class sedan 19992005W V
221S-Class sedan 20052013W V
222S-Class sedan 2013currentW V
230SL20012011R C
231SL 2012currentR
238E-Class Coupe (213) 2017currentC A
245B-Class Gen 120052011W
246B-Class Gen 220112018W
247B-Class Gen 32018currentW X
251R-Class 20052013W
253GLC2016currentX C
257CLS Gen 32018currentC (W!)
290AMG GT 4-door Coupé2018currentW
447Vito Gen 3 / V-Class2015currentW
460/1/3G-model (aka Geländewagen)1979currentW
638Vito Gen 119962003W
639Vito Gen 220032014W

4 thoughts on “Mercedes model codes”

  1. I need to to thank you fօr thіs fantastic read!!
    I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it. I һave got you book-marked to check out new stuff
    you post…


Leave a Comment